Skip to main content

Immigration and Passports

Departing From The Airport Header

Immigration And Passports

Head towards passport control, which will be clearly signposted on your arrival.

There are two separate queues as follows:

  • One for European Union (EU)*, European Economic Area (EEA), British nationals and Swiss nationals.
  • And a second for all other nationalities.

At the passport desk a Border Force officer will ask to see your passport or travel document and any supporting documentation necessary for your visit. Please remember that your passport must not expire during your visit to the United Kingdom. For full details on entry requirements into the United Kingdom, please visit the Border Force website.

With tougher checks now in place at the border you may have to wait a little longer to get into the United Kingdom, especially at peak times. The Border Force use scanners to ensure that passports, visas and other official documents are genuine. Border Force officers are trained to detect forgeries and check that people have the right to enter the United Kingdom.

e-Passport Gates

e-passport gates are a secure and convenient self-service alternative to the conventional border control process at London Stansted.

The system uses facial recognition technology to compare your face to the photograph recorded on the 'chip' in your passport. Once the checks are made, the gates will open automatically for you to go through.

You can use the gates if you are a passport holder of a country in the European Economic Area (EEA) - including the UK - or Switzerland; and if you have the  EEA chip logo on your passport. You cannot use the gates with a national identity card instead of a passport.

*EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are not members of the European Union (EU) but citizens of these countries have the same rights to enter, live in and work in the United Kingdom as EU citizens.